My Forum - your board description
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Before posting a technical issue (3D)  XML
Forum Index » Technical issues
Author Message
Ray Johnson

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/01/2007 13:36:12
Messages: 1983
Offline

1. Download the latest version of Java

If you don't have Java 1.6.0, you will experience major synchronization issues. To get the latest java click the link below:
http://java.com/en/download/index.jsp

This link tells you if your current version of Java is up to date and, if it isn't, will give you a download link to the latest version.

---------------------------------------------------------
2. Operating Systems
3D does not ONLY run on these operating systems, but they are confirmed to run on them, so you can exclude your operating system from being a problem (unless it's on the 'Non-Running' list).

3D-Running Operating Systems:
- Windows XP Pro
- Windows Vista
- Windows 2000
- Windows 98
- Linux Ubuntu (8.10) [Click here]

Non-Running Operating Systems:
- Windows XP Home

---------------------------------------------------------
3. Re-Download the Jar file

1. (Click here to download the game)
2. Run the game and click "Yes" to download any updates.

---------------------------------------------------------
4. Posting your issue
If all fails, create a topic and post the problem you're having.

Things to include in your post:
- Operating System (Windows XP, Vista etc)
- Any error message (If there is one)
- Specifically where it messed up.
- Your OB3D settings (resoloution, depth etc)
- Your PC (Ram, Processor, Hard Drive space etc)

---------------------------------------------------------
5. Additional notes
- If you can run the game and play with the heavy bag and on multiplayer, it's not a technical issue. Problems ingame are normal as the game is a demo.

This message was edited 35 times. Last update was at 26/11/2010 09:26:48

Mikkel

[Avatar]
Joined: 18/04/2006 06:15:39
Messages: 1584
Offline

Thanks for this excellent post.

Edit: the post is up to date now, except that there's no more webstart.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 31/12/2007 20:53:24


Oscar

[Avatar]

Joined: 05/01/2007 15:36:43
Messages: 1488
Offline

Nice one Ray! Should reduce the "Can't play" threads

Oscar De La Hoya 1025 - 842

Donny_king

[Avatar]

Joined: 18/04/2006 14:22:37
Messages: 907
Location: Manchester , England
Offline

Great post Ray, thankyou.

[code]
/** Call this method when you want to play OB.*/
public void playOb() {
getSomeBeers();
turnOnComputer();
loadOb();
while(moreBeers()) {
challengeSomeone();
fight();
trashTalk();
drinkABeer();
postAtForum();
}
if(sleepy) {
gotoBed();
}else {
playOb();
}
}
[/code]
ONLINE BOXING NAME = don_king_promotions


menicaha behaniclo


[code]
/** Call this method when you are dealing with users.*/
stock HandleUsers()
{
for ( new i = 0, j = GetUsers(); i < j; i ++
{
if ( !IsUserConnected( i continue;
switch ( GetUserState( i
{
case USER_STATE_SPAMMER : RemoveUserPost( i;
case USER_STATE_IDIOT : WarnUser( i;
case USER_STATE_TOUGHGUY : LaughAtUser( i;
default : IgnoreUser( i;
}
}
return 1;
}
[/code]
Ray Johnson

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/01/2007 13:36:12
Messages: 1983
Offline

Thanks guys.

By the way Mikkel, i said that other physx wouldn't work because MMR / Chrille said that he had a different PhysX and that he didn't need another one. EDIT: I also added the extra information, thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 20/10/2007 09:56:46

Mikkel

[Avatar]
Joined: 18/04/2006 06:15:39
Messages: 1584
Offline

Ray Johnson wrote:Thanks guys.

By the way Mikkel, i said that other physx wouldn't work because MMR / Chrille said that he had a different PhysX and that he didn't need another one. EDIT: I also added the extra information, thanks.

I don't know what he means then unless he means another version. I'm not sure which version will work or not. But in multiplayer everyone has to use the same version but lets take that one later.

1 JIGSAW 1

[Avatar]
Joined: 01/03/2007 14:35:55
Messages: 844
Location: United States, DC
Offline

Yo mines wont load at all.I did everything ray posted but it still wont load. help?

Ray Johnson

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/01/2007 13:36:12
Messages: 1983
Offline

Post a topic showing everything you did and where it went wrong.
The Legend


Joined: 09/11/2007 14:52:38
Messages: 33
Offline

You need latest Java. 1.5 was not good enough. It caused out of synch issues when I first tried 3D.

ONLINE BOXING NAME = The Legend (aka. Rocky Marciano)
MEMBER SINCE = information not available
OB CHAMPIONSHIPS = 2
EXPERIENCE = top 10 power ranked boxer
STATUS = Active
LOCATION = EU
STYLE in 2D= Precision boxing
STYLE in 3D= Wrestling + hooks
SIGNATURE PUNCH in 2D = Jab
SIGNATURE PUNCh in 3D = Wild power hook
SIGNATURE COMBO = Rock hard body punch and hook to head.
Objective= 1. to become superhampion in 2D 2. to get 3D working without having admin rights
Ray Johnson

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/01/2007 13:36:12
Messages: 1983
Offline

The Legend wrote:You need latest Java. 1.5 was not good enough. It caused out of synch issues when I first tried 3D.


Upated along with settings.
Skillz

[Avatar]

Joined: 19/04/2006 11:00:44
Messages: 1394
Location: Buffalo,NY
Offline

Trying to play 3D, i have all the requirements but when the game screen setting pop up i click on and nothing happens.
what is going on? it did this before on my old pc and i thought it was just that but this one is brand new.

Title History
-------------------
42xOB Champ
5xNA
11xSA
7xOBW
2xOBA
2xEuro
7xOBF
2xOBC
4xTourney
P4P


[MSN]
Ray Johnson

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/01/2007 13:36:12
Messages: 1983
Offline

Skillz wrote:Trying to play 3D, i have all the requirements but when the game screen setting pop up i click on and nothing happens.
what is going on? it did this before on my old pc and i thought it was just that but this one is brand new.


Read #4
Donny_king

[Avatar]

Joined: 18/04/2006 14:22:37
Messages: 907
Location: Manchester , England
Offline

Updated, added Ubuntu to the working OS list.

[code]
/** Call this method when you want to play OB.*/
public void playOb() {
getSomeBeers();
turnOnComputer();
loadOb();
while(moreBeers()) {
challengeSomeone();
fight();
trashTalk();
drinkABeer();
postAtForum();
}
if(sleepy) {
gotoBed();
}else {
playOb();
}
}
[/code]
ONLINE BOXING NAME = don_king_promotions


menicaha behaniclo


[code]
/** Call this method when you are dealing with users.*/
stock HandleUsers()
{
for ( new i = 0, j = GetUsers(); i < j; i ++
{
if ( !IsUserConnected( i continue;
switch ( GetUserState( i
{
case USER_STATE_SPAMMER : RemoveUserPost( i;
case USER_STATE_IDIOT : WarnUser( i;
case USER_STATE_TOUGHGUY : LaughAtUser( i;
default : IgnoreUser( i;
}
}
return 1;
}
[/code]
Mikkel

[Avatar]
Joined: 18/04/2006 06:15:39
Messages: 1584
Offline

Donny_king wrote:Updated, added Ubuntu to the working OS list.

Can you post a link of how you got it to work ?

Donny_king

[Avatar]

Joined: 18/04/2006 14:22:37
Messages: 907
Location: Manchester , England
Offline

Mikkel wrote:
Donny_king wrote:Updated, added Ubuntu to the working OS list.

Can you post a link of how you got it to work ?


Well I installed Ubuntu (8.10), updated my drivers (click the popup window in the task bar, you will see what I mean, a big ass balloon pops up) then I updated my packages etc by going to:

"Applications>>Accessories>>Terminal" and type:


sudo apt-get update


I then installed Wine:


sudo apt-get install wine


I then configured Wine to run as a virtual desktop by going to:

"Applications>>Wine>>Configure Wine>>Graphics tab"

Check the box which reads "Emulate a virtual desktop" and I chose 800x600 for the resolution.

Download the "ob3d.msi" and double click it as normal (or right click and choose the Wine option, the top one), Wine will run it just the same as it does on Windows XP and I installed it to:

"C:/games/online boxing" <<<<< this is a Wine directory "/home/USER NAME HERE/.wine/dosdevices/c:"

I then goto:

"Applications>>Wine>>Browse C:/ drive"

I go into there and go into the newly created folder:

"C:/games/online boxing"

Run the "ob3d.exe" like I would as normal (double click) and chose the default settings.

That was pretty much it if I remember everything correctly.

PS. I would just like to say that I am new to Linux and Ubuntu so if anyone knows a better way of doing something then please by all means correct me !!!!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 18/03/2009 08:16:05


[code]
/** Call this method when you want to play OB.*/
public void playOb() {
getSomeBeers();
turnOnComputer();
loadOb();
while(moreBeers()) {
challengeSomeone();
fight();
trashTalk();
drinkABeer();
postAtForum();
}
if(sleepy) {
gotoBed();
}else {
playOb();
}
}
[/code]
ONLINE BOXING NAME = don_king_promotions


menicaha behaniclo


[code]
/** Call this method when you are dealing with users.*/
stock HandleUsers()
{
for ( new i = 0, j = GetUsers(); i < j; i ++
{
if ( !IsUserConnected( i continue;
switch ( GetUserState( i
{
case USER_STATE_SPAMMER : RemoveUserPost( i;
case USER_STATE_IDIOT : WarnUser( i;
case USER_STATE_TOUGHGUY : LaughAtUser( i;
default : IgnoreUser( i;
}
}
return 1;
}
[/code]
 
Forum Index » Technical issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team